Member Area
SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend 

The Largest Solar Furnace In France E-mail
(8 votes)
The largest Solar Furnace is at Odeillo in the Pyrénées-Orientales in France, opened in 1970. It employs an array of plane mirrors to gather sunlight, reflecting it onto a larger curved mirror. Solar furnace consists of 10000 concave mirrors that reflect and focus the sun's rays on the square diagonal of 40 inches. Diameter mirror construction is 54 meters. An array of mirrors acts as a parabolic reflector, concentrating light into focus. Temperature is in focus, as if in this place at the same time sent 22,000 suns. It can reach 3500 ° C (all depends on the position of the mirrors). Solar furnace used for industrial purposes. With its help generate electricity, melt steel, creating hydrogen fuel and nano-materials.

The Largest Solar Furnace In France

Worlds Largest Ship Being Built E-mail
(7 votes)
The worlds largest ever ship is currently being built in South Korea. These photographs taken from Wired magazine are by photographer Alastair Philip Wiper and show the enormous scale of the build. The ship in these photographs is one of 20 that will be built in a contract thought to be worth $3.8 billion.

Holding over 18,000 containers the ship still has room for a staff movie theatre and swimming pool. Check it out in the photographs below.

Worlds Largest Ship Being Built

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Results 36 - 42 of 1864
Sponsored Links


Subscribe to
Enter your Email:

Follow Funzug on Twitter!